Cyril Ramaphosa elected the new president of the ANC

Cyril Ramaphosa has been elected as the new President of the African National Congress (ANC) taking over from Jacob Zuma who stood down but who remains as President of South Africa until national elections in 2019 unless the ANC decides to recall him as it did his predecessor Thabo Mbeki.

Cyril Ramaphosa will be the ANC candidate for President in 2019. The ANC got 62% in the national elections in 2014 and 54% in local government elections in 2016. Many commentators now expect that Cyril Ramaphosa will become the next President of South Africa. Cyril Ramaphosa came to prominence as a trade union leader in the 1980s and a leader of the United Democratic Front.

In the earlier 1990s he was a key person in the negotiations for South Africa to become a democracy. It has been widely reported that he was Nelson Mandela’s preference to succeed him as President. The ANC chose Thabo Mbeki and Cyril Ramaphosa left a leading role in politics and became a successful businessman. He was a member of the board of Lonmin at the time of the Marikana massacre. He became Deputy President of the ANC in 2012 and Deputy President of the country in 2014.

In other elections for the “top six” positions in the National Executive Council (NEC):

– David Mabuza Premier of Mpumalanga province was elected Deputy President
Gwede Mantashe, outgoing General Secretary was elected National Chairperson of the ANC
– Ace Magashule, Premier of the Free State province was elected Secretary General by 24 votes.
– Paul Mashatile was elected Treasurer General
– Jessie Duarte was re-elected Deputy Secretary General.

It is regarded that the six positions have been divided three each to the main “slates.”

The ANC elective conference will now elect the 80 person National Executive.

About the Author

Robyn K