Cyril Ramaphosa announces new cabinet

27 February –¬†Cyril Ramaphosa announces new cabinet

Cyril Ramaphosa who succeeded Jacob Zuma as President of South Africa on 15 February has announced his new cabinet. There are swinging changes with 10 ministers dropped. Cyril Ramaphosa has indicated he wishes to restructure government with fewer ministries but has initially kept to those he inherited. Many analysts say while President Ramaphosa had to reflect the balance across the ANC in his appointments most of those leaving the cabinet are regarded as strong supporters of former president Jacob Zuma.

Key appointments include:-

David Mabuza, Premier of Mpumalanga province who was elected Deputy President of the ANC in December is now Deputy President of the country.

Nhlanhla Nene who was sacked by Jacob Zuma in December 2015 for apparently refusing to support deals that were wanted, allegedly, by the Gupta family has been appointed back to be Finance Minister. He replaces Malusi Gigaba who is moved back to a previous role as Minister for Home Affairs.

Dr Nkosazana Dlamini-Zuma who ran Ramaphosa close in the ANC President Election is Minister in the Presidency, Planning Monitoring and Evaluation.

Lindiwe Sisulu who ran initially for President of the ANC and then switched to Deputy President but lost out to David Mabuza is the Minister for International Relations and Cooperation (Foreign Minister) replacing Ms Maite Nkoana-Mashabane who becomes Minister for Rural Development and Land Reform.

Pravin Gordhan who was also sacked as finance minister by Jacob Zuma returns to the cabinet as Minister for Public Enterprises.

Zweli Mkhize, former Treasurer General of the ANC who some had tipped as a possible Finance Minister has been appointed Minister for Cooperative Governance (which is similar to Local Government) and Traditional Affairs.

Gwede Mantashe, Chair of the ANC and former Secretary General is Minister of Mineral Resources. He like Cyril Ramaphosa is a former General Secretary of the National Union of Mineworkers.

The President, Deputy President and Ministers total is 25, 12 of whom are women. However out of what some regard as they key posts of President, Deputy President and the ministers of, finance, home affairs and international relations, only one post is held by a woman.

About the Author